What Are The Use, Types & Applications Of GB Ethernet?


Since its introduction in 1999, Gigabit Ethernet was defined by the IEEE802.3ab standard. Offering the data rate of a billion bits per second (1 GB/s), it is one of the real-time and fastest transmission technology over long distances in the computer networks.

What are the Applications of Gigabit Ethernet

Ethernet is defined by a family of wired computer networking technologies. It is commonly used in LAN, metropolitan area and wide area networks for Official or and Industrial Ethernet connection.

  • Local Area Network (LAN): It is widely used in enterprises LAN and Service Provider Data Centers with the data speed up to 10 Gbps. It is connected between Switch to Switch, Switch to Server, Data Centers and buildings.
  • Metropolitan Area Network (WAN): It is being used in Dark Fiber and DWDM with a link length of 300 meters.
  • Wide Area Network (MAN): It is attached to get accession of equipment at the edge of OC-192 infrastructure.

Types of Ethernet

It is supported by 5 physical layers standards and the popular varieties are based on their wiring composition.

1) One of the varieties is 2-wire which has 1000 Base-X. It further categorized in 3 more segments.

1000 Base-CX

CX uses a shielded pair of cables which are twisted inside. The wire is based on the standard of the IEEE 802.3z. The shielded power cable is embedded with DE-9 or 8P8C connector. These cables are available with the maximum segment length of 25 meters. And, it uses NRZ line encoding and 8B/6B block encoding.

1000 Base-SX

It is also based on the IEEE 802.3z standard. And, uses a pair of fibres optic cables of a shorter wavelength having 770-860 nm diameter and NRZ line encoding and 8B/10B encoding. The segment length varies from 220-550 meters maximally depending upon the fibre properties.

1000 Base-LX

It is based on the IEEE 802.3z standard. Like others, it also uses a pair of fibre optics cables of a longer wavelength having 1270-1335 nm diameters covering distances up to 5 km and, NRZ line encoding and 8B/10B block encoding is used.

2) Another one of the varieties 4-wire which has 1000 Base-T. It uses the Trellis code modulation technique is used having a pair of four lanes of twisted-pair cables which includes Cat-5, Cat-5e, Cat-6 and Cat-7. It has a maximum of 100 meters of segment length. It is defined by IEEE 802.3ab standards.

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Tech